Human Rights

Polish Prize of Sérgio Vieira de Mello, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights 

Awarded to individuals and non-governmental organizations for their efforts to promote peaceful coexistence and cooperation among societies, religions and cultures.

Winners of the 10th edition of the Award:

Category: Person

Myrosław Marynowycz – professor in religion studies, journalist, translator, social activist, co-founder of the Ukrainian Helsinki Group and Amnesty International, President of the Ukrainian International PEN-Club and Vice-Rector of the Ukrainian Catholic University in Lviv. He is a member of advisory group on ecumenism to the Superior of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church and of the “Justice and Peace” Committee, operating within the Orthodox Church. Awarded in 2008 with the Ukrainian Order of Freedom, in recognition of his achievements in consolidating the sovereignty and independence of Ukraine, development of democracy, respect for constitutional rights and individual freedoms of men and citizens. In 2006, received the Order of Merit of the Polish Republic. Myroslaw Marynovych plays a special role in the Ukrainian intellectual and scientific life and the circles of secular Greek Catholics, always maintaining an independent position and courage in passing judgments. He plays a key role in relations with Poland, having for years made every effort to promote transnational interfaith and peaceful coexistence of Polish and Ukrainian cultures. He is a leading representative of Ukrainian communities open to dialogue, rejecting nationalist and xenophobic attitudes, and advocating reconciliation between Poles and Ukrainians.

Category: Organization

Refugee Aid – Denis Hurley’s Centre– is a dynamic charity organisation founded in 2009 in RSA, providing aid for African refugees who had to leave their countries for political or economic reasons. The patronage over the centre was held by once a Archbishop of Durban, Denis Eugene Hurley (1915 – 2004). The organisation is maintained by government grants, foreign donations, local foundations and private contributions. It is a centre unique on African scale, providing not only immediate help to refugees in their first weeks in the new country, but also delivering long-term, comprehensive care. The Centre helps the refugees in taking advantage of health programmes, finding employment, schools, professional training courses, and assists them in participating in educational programmes on tolerance. Every day it gives support to almost 500 people seeking help.

Honorary Award:

Adam Daniel Rotfeld – Polish scientist, diplomat, Minister of Foreign Affairs in 2005. From 1961 to 1989 he worked at the Polish Institute of International Affairs. He took part in the work of Phase II of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE) as a member of the Polish delegation in 1973 and in the CSCE Meetings in Belgrade, Madrid and Vienna. From 1989, he worked at the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI). In 1992-1993, he became the CSCE chairman’s personal representative for the political settlement of the Transnistria conflict. On January 5, 2005, he assumed the post of Minister of Foreign Affairs of Poland. In 2006, appointed by the UN Secretary-General, he became a Member and then Chairman of the UN Secretary-General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament (2008). Since 2008, as co-chairman of the bilateral Polish-Russian group on difficult issues, he has been taking steps to strengthen dialogue between the two countries. His activities exemplify a deep commitment to reconciliation between Poland and Russia.


By using this site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time, and learn more about cookies